[Skip to Content]

Excellence in Institutional Writing Awards

 Call for Entries and Rules     Create an Entry      Past Winners       Contact


The National Association of Science Writers is the largest organization devoted to the professional interests of science writers. Its more than 2,300 journalists, authors, editors, producers, public information officers, students, and people who write and produce material intended to inform the public about science, health, engineering, and technology. Learn more and join.

The annual Excellence in Institutional Writing Awards and Science in Society Journalism Awards competitions are managed by the NASW Awards Committee, a group of accomplished professionals who volunteer their time on behalf of the field. This year, the committee is chaired by Jill Sakai and Aparna Vidyasagar, and we are honored by their service. If you would like to serve as a judge, please contact the chairs.

Jill Sakai and Aparna Vidyasagar

Jill Sakai is a science writer and editor for Science News Explores, The Open Notebook, and other publications. She is based in Madison, Wisconsin, where you might find her mountain biking, hiking, playing piano, or enjoying local cheese.

Aparna Vidyasagar is a freelance science journalist whose work has been published in outlets such as New Scientist, Mental Floss, and LiveScience. She is based in Portland, Oregon and enjoys mystery novels, word puzzles, and the natural beauty of the Pacific Northwest (all paired with a good cup of coffee!).


For more information or questions, please contact


Tinsley Davis, Executive Director

National Association of Science Writers

PO Box 7905

Berkeley, CA 94707